GFRI consists of three main organisational bodies:

The Supervisory Council

The Supervisory Council ensures the proper functioning of the GFRI and reports directly to the Rectorate of the University of Geneva.
Its purpose is to oversee the development of education and research of the Institute. The Council consists of at least eight members including four from outside the University of Geneva, and is chaired by the Rector of the University of Geneva.


Management is responsible for operational management of the Institute. It is composed of three members: the Managing Director and two Deputy Directors.
The Managing Director is appointed by the Rector for a period of 4 years. The Managing Director appoints two Deputy Directors from among the permanent members. The Managing Director of GFRI is Professor Tony Berrada and its two Deputy Directors are Professor Olivier Scaillet (Research) and Professor Rajna Gibson Brandon (Education and External Affairs).

The Consultative Assembly

The Consultative Assembly is the consultative body of the GFRI. It comprises GFRI permanent and associate members.
It meets at least once a year to discuss strategy and operational issues related to the development of GFRI.

Who are the GFRI's members?

GFRI Members